Jury 2019-03-20T12:24:03+01:00


For every category the Franco-German Journalism Prize is awarded in, the organizers’ office appoints a jury of representatives from German- and French-language media. The greatest importance is attached to an equal and balanced composition.

In addition to this, up to two representatives of further institutions can also be jury members. The jurors are excluded from taking part in the competition. Each jury elects a chairperson.
Jury meetings are not public. The jury’s decisions are arrived at by open vote with a voting majority. The vote of the respective chairperson decides in the event of a tie vote. The jury is not permitted to split an award amongst several entries.

The Young Talent Prize is jointly awarded by representatives of the juries and a representative of the Franco-German Youth Office. Every jury suggests an entry for it by an up-and-coming journalist within the age limit. The upper limit is 30 years.

The winning entry is selected from the nominees previously picked by a preliminary jury for the respective category. All nominees will be invited to the ceremony. The prize winners will be announced by the respective jury speakers on the evening of the award ceremony. This is alternately held in Paris and Berlin shortly before the summer holidays.